Confused about UV coordinate transforms in 3D

Godot Version

Question

Hi! I’m new to shaders, and I’ve been trying to write a spatial shader that will draw an outline for Sprite3Ds (both normal and billboard). I’ve managed to make most of it work, but then I decided to add margins so that the outline wouldn’t get cut off if the texture doesn’t have space around it. A guide for 2D suggests that I should enlarge the texture (in “vertex”) and then shrink it again (in “fragment”). However, in 3D some matrix transforms clearly happen in between, so everything gets skewed. I’ve read the docs and found this handy cheat sheet for matrix transforms, but it didn’t quite clear my confusion. I guess my main questions are:

1. How can I find out which values are dealt with in which space? So far it seems to me that “vertex” gets both VERTEX and UV in model space, but then “fragment” deals with both VERTEX and UV in view space (or is it screen space)? How does POSITION help if (according to the docs) the data still gets transferred to “fragment” in the same way?
  2. Which transforms does the engine perform on its own? Is it MODELVIEW between “vertex” and “fragment” and then PROJECTION after “fragment”? How can I control that better? “Skip vertex transform” seems to be a way to override that, but it doesn’t work as I’d expect on its own; should I use it and then somehow apply MODELVIEW in “fragment” after upscaling? (and then ummm inverse projection for billboard??) What about “world_vertex_coords”: does that flag affect all stages, or only “vertex”?
  3. Where do I get missing arguments for the matrix conversions? “Get view from UV” seems to require depth; is that VERTEX.z in view space?
  4. Am I even approaching this right, or is downscaling/upscaling something that only works properly in 2D? Am I missing some crucial step like normals?