Data Layer on TileMap: Cannot call method 'get_custom_data' on a null value error

Godot Version

Question

Hello my good friends, I am new to Godot, and I am trying to get my CharicterBody2d to move across a TileMap. I wanted there to be tiles that they could walk across and tiles that they can’t, so I created a Custom Data Layer called ‘Walkable’ (set to bool). However, when I run the scene and try moving, it crashes and I get the error “Cannot call method ‘get_custom_data’ on a null value” I think this has something to do with the TileMap/CharBody not being properly initialized before trying to use it, but I am not sure and new to Godot so I’m unsure how to fix this issue.

This is the code that I have attached to the CharBody2d

extends CharacterBody2D

@onready var tile_map = $".."

func _process(_delta):
	if Input.is_action_pressed("up"):
		move(Vector2.UP)
	elif Input.is_action_pressed("down"):
		move(Vector2.DOWN)
	elif Input.is_action_pressed("left"):
		move(Vector2.LEFT)
	elif Input.is_action_pressed("right"):
		move(Vector2.RIGHT)

func move(direction: Vector2):
	#Get current tile
	var current_tile: Vector2i = tile_map.local_to_map(global_position)
	# Get target tile
	var target_tile: Vector2i = Vector2i(
		int(current_tile.x + direction.x),
		int(current_tile.y + direction.y),
	)
	prints(current_tile, target_tile)
	#Get custom data layer
	var tile_data: TileData = tile_map.get_cell_tile_data(0, target_tile)

if tile_data.get_custom_data("Walkable") == false:
		return
	#move plr
	global_position = tile_map.map_to_local(target_tile)

Thank you in advance for anything that could help!

Without seeing your scene tree, my guess is that your character’s global position and local position may be different? If the tilemap wasn’t ready, you would have gotten an error trying to access it in the first place!

Maybe try

var current_tile: Vector2i = tile_map.local_to_map(tile_map.to_local(global_position))