Depth Texture has completely confused me

Godot Version

v4.2.1.stable.official [b09f793f5]

Question

I just need help understanding what is happening with the depth texture. I’ve been crawling the internet and looking at every resource I can find for literally 5 days and am no less lost than when I started. This post might get long. The big questions:

1. The whole reason I started learning about depth texture is just because I want to detect the edges of an object to create ripples in the water. Is there any other way to do this?

2. When you get the depth texture of a fragment, what is it even returning? Is it a float? A vec3? What kind of range can this value have?

3. What are the uses of the depth texture besides making things disappear as they go deeper underwater?

4. From what I understand, the depth texture gives you the distance from the camera to the fragment. How do the water shaders instead get the distance between the first fragment and the fragment behind it instead?

5. in the tutorial below there’s a line:
    float depth = PROJECTION_MATRIX[3][2] / (depth_texture + PROJECTION_MATRIX[2][2]);

How am I supposed to know what to put in those square brackets after PROJECTION_MATRIX? What does any of that mean?

1. If you have any tutorials or reading which will help me wrap my mind around this I will really appreciate it.

Details of my journey so far (I’m not sure if it’s important but here it is):

I’ve spent most of my time with this tutorial: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7L6ZUYj1hs8

Which I can’t get working after following the tutorial and double checking my work. On godotshaders.com i found the shader from the tutorial Water Shader - Godot Shaders but this also didnt work when I pasted it into my scene.

I also watched this video which kind of made sense https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x1dIJdz8Uj8 , but again this video is trying to get camera to fragment, but what about the distance between a fragment and a fragment behind it?