Do input events have to be handled in _process()?

:information_source: Attention Topic was automatically imported from the old Question2Answer platform.
:bust_in_silhouette: Asked By denim_tuesday

Forgive me, I’m new to this.

I’ve follow a few tutorials and they all handle input events in _process(). Like so:

func _process(delta):
    if Input.is_action_pressed("ui_left"):
        print("You pressed left!")
    pass

Now, as a novice, I understand that _process() is called once per frame. It also has the delta property which can be used to calculate movement but, my gut tells me not to handle events in process. At least (and I know I’m replacing it with a switch statement) I am keeping the if statement out of _process(). Something like:

func _unhandled_input(event):
    match event.as_text():
        "Left":
            _move_left()
    pass

func _move_left():
    print("You pressed left!")

Of course, now I can’t access delta. move_left() could be called at any time in relation to the frame being displayed.

Can anyone offer any advice/examples on how to refactor event handling out of process()? Or must it absolutely happen in there? Should input events be handled dead on exactly the time the frame is displayed?

I aplogise for the rambling.

:bust_in_silhouette: Reply From: hilfazer

They don’t have to.
If you handle input in _process() you will be unable to stop input from getting to your game when, for example, you are displaying game menu without doing some additional work.

With _unhandled_input() input can be stopped by using set_input_as_handled() in your Control (game menu for example) node. It’s something like this:

get_tree().set_input_as_handled()

It captures and throws into the void any input not used by your Control.

Pausing your game can be an option to prevent it from processing input but in multiplayer games pause it not really an option.