Effectively animating/representing a looping timer and timeline track with dynamically resizable UI elements

Godot Version

4.2.2.stable

Question

Hi everyone. I am new to Godot and this community, so apologies if anything is amiss.

I am designing a prototype which utilises a timeline system which maps inputs on a 4 second timer loop. I am storing this information in a sorted array with a timestamp and the input button pressed. When the inputs are confirmed by the player, I use this data to create signalling nodes which signal the appropriate game objects at the right time on a loop. This backend implementation seems to be doing the trick for me, and I’m relatively happy with it.

My issue is representing it visually. I am aiming to represent them on a looping timeline system (e.g., like a looping Zelda musical instrument player). Currently I am stamping UI elements down on a panel container based on the position/progress of a PathFollow2D along a Path2D node. This is a real spaghetti implementation and obviously doesn’t work once you resize any elements as the Path2D does not scale like a control node, and is not as precise at visually representing the timings as I’d like.

timeline GIF

My question is: how could I visually represent the progression of a timer using a dynamically sized moving indicator like my current example above, and stamp UI elements down on a UI container, with their position reflecting their point in time out of 4 seconds?

I have looked into using a texture progress bar, but to my knowledge it fills the bar up with multiple textures up until its max range, when I want a single moving indicator to demonstrate progression through the timeline loop.

Many thanks for any help that can be provided. Happy to give more context/detail if needed, this is my first post so I am learning :slight_smile:

You could use @GlobalScope.remap() to remap the Timer.time_left value from Timer.wait_time to 0 to your start and end position.

Something like: