Godot - Invalid Access property issue when dragging instanciated button for inventory

Godot Version

Question

Error: Invalid access to property or key ‘CurrentItem’ on a base object of type ‘Button(inventory_slot.gd)’

Hi! I’m relatively new to godot, but so far I’ve generally been able to troubleshoot errors on my own or by googling. This one has stumped me though. I’m following a pretty simple tutorial to make an inventory system, but I’m heavily adapting it to my needs. the github to the tutorial I’m adapting is here GitHub - finepointcgi/Godot-Horror-Game-GD at Develop2, but I’m following his video tutorial rather than copying from the github. I’m trying to implement a RE-style inventory, but so far the only real change is not to allow the stacking of items, as it doesn’t fit into my game.

There are three scenes that currently handle the inventory system: a container with the actual inventory, a scene with a button that is instantiated by the inventory to create the actual inventory, and a resource template for defining items. Pastebins to the scripts associated with the scenes can be found below

inventory - Pastebin.com - the inventory

the inventory button - Pastebin.com - the button

The template - Pastebin.com - the template

I can share any other parts of the project deemed useful. Help would be very much appreciated!

I don’t think “the inventory button” is a full script, unless it really is missing extends Button. If that is the full script you should be recieving errors like “unkown identifier ‘CurrentItem’”

If you want to paste a script in the forum use the </> button on a new line.

```
type or paste code here
```

Thanks for the tip about embedding code. The inventory slot (button) scene has a control node at its root, and the script is attached to it, not the button node directly.i made a mistake when making the paste bin <\ extends Button

var currentItem
var currentIcon
var currentLabel
var index

signal OnButtonClick(Index, item)