Help Using Signals with the goal of Getting Results in the Editor before Runtime

Godot Version

Background

I am new to Godot and am just now starting to get the hang of the syntax. I have made some lovely classes that do exactly what I want, but I want to see the results before I actually run the playbacks (example: i click a button, and it changes the Sprite of the related object, or i adjust an int and it changes the rotation or size, all while inside the scene editor).

I have no idea if that is even possible, but given the examples I’ve seen in the documentation (which have similar results?) I theorize that I could use Signals to trigger when a variable changes in the editor and have it throw a function to do what I want.

Assuming Signals are in fact the answer (which I cannot say for sure is true – there might be another solution I’m not aware of?):

The problem is I am still not sure how to script signals. I don’t have a mind for them yet and my research is not getting me anywhere.

I have read the documentation regarding Signals several times, but I’m afraid I still can’t quite grasp how to script them, even if I understand the basics of how to use the preset ones in the editor.

I’m aware that the “Node” tab has a “signals” sub-tab, and if I doubleclick the desired ‘signal,’ it will give me a function in the desired script that will execute if the ‘signal’ is ‘emitted’. I’ve had success with this already using Area2D collision detection.

But I have reached a point where I need to start making my own signals, and the documentation just isn’t clicking for me in my head. I don’t know if I’m just inefficient at reading the documentation or if my learning style isn’t compatible with it, but I am hoping that someone here will be kind enough to help me out (or at least point me in the right direction).

Setup

I have a custom Resource:

@tool

extends Resource

## The [Resource] parent class

class_name ParentResourceObject

signal a_change