How can I connect with multiple servers from Client

Godot Version

Question

Hi, I’m quite new to Godot, and trying to do some research over game server-client relationship.

Specifically, for a client, I’d like to connect with normal remote server, AND local server(on same device, distinct process) at the same time. (Note that this is for research purpose, not for developing real game)

Client should be able to send RPC for both servers.

For now, I’m testing with Multiplayer Bomber example. I tried to connect with my local server in this way :

# This is for remote server
	peer = ENetMultiplayerPeer.new()
	peer.create_client(ip, DEFAULT_PORT)
	multiplayer.set_multiplayer_peer(peer)

# This is for local server
    # I've declared "local_server_multiplayer" as global variable
	local_server_peer = ENetMultiplayerPeer.new()
	local_server_peer.create_client("127.0.0.1", LOCAL_SERVER_PORT)

local_server_multiplayer.set_multiplayer_peer(local_peer)

and tried to send RPC with local_server_multiplayer

gamestate.local_server_multiplayer.rpc(1, gamestate, "register_player", ["test_player_name"])

Which does not work at all - it seems like local server does not react at all…

How can I achieve to connect multiple servers? Any suggestions?

the multiplayer class can only hold one peer, so i dont think you can achieve this with ENetPeers

1 Like

Correct.
and that’s why I declared another multiplayer object local_server_multiplayer, but don’t know why it’s not working…

Well to help you we would need to know how that local_server_mutliplayer is set up

Nothing special, I just tried to mimics the codes for already existing multiplayer.

var local_server_multiplayer = MultiplayerAPI.create_default_interface()

The only difference is that I explicitly declared local_server_multiplayer as an global variable.

There might be problems with the scene tree then i guess. Look at the docs: