How can I override a child node of an inherited scene?

Godot Version

Question

I’m very new to Godot and love it so far and am currently trying to build a little RPG. :slight_smile:

However, I’m a bit stuck with how I can create multiple scenes effectively, without repeating myself.

Goal

My goal is to make it easy to create many monster types that are pretty similar but still need their own identity here and there.

Issue

Let’s say I have a Player and a MonsterA, MonsterB, etc. scene. Players and monsters share many traits. They all have a health bar, a sprite, a hitbox, and a weapon. My idea is to use inheritance to create a base class that handles all of that: Actor

Now, for the script part, everything is clear so far. I can just create a base class and have method overrides.
But I’m stuck with overriding Nodes in the scene tree. The idea is that there’s default Weapon on Actor and if MonsterA needs a different weapon or hitbox, I can override the default one. But Godot doesn’t let me replace the existing Weapon or Hitbox.

How do you handle such a use case? I cannot imagine I’m the only one with this problem.

If I don’t use the inherited scene option, I lose all the default settings, like position information or a default health bar style, that the base class provides.

1 Like

You cannot replace nodes from the “mother scene”, but you can still customize its properties.
And when that is not enough, you can create “placeholder” nodes that will store some information and put custom nodes under them.
For instance, you can create a Marker node named “WeaponContainer” in which you put your custom weapon scene for each monster. The WeaponContainer will contain all position information, and maybe some logic to instantiate the adequate weapon, or even handle weapon basic logic