Hslider just becomes unchangeable randomly

Godot Version

v4.1.3.stable.official [f06b6836a]

Question

hi!! so for a project i am coding a poker game where before starting the game, you can determine the amount of ‘money’ each player starts with, and to do this i have been using a hSlider to choose how much that is. it initially works, as you can both use your mouse to drag the slider and scrollwheel to scroll the slider too. however, it just stops being editable at a point?? there isnt any reason why i can find why, the “editable” and “scrollable” tags don’t change, just that at a point they become inaffective and no longer work. this is my first time posting to the forums so im not entirely sure what the etiquette is on posting code or an image of the tags or anything like that but i am more than happy to provide anything that may help!

Can you post your scene tree and the code?

sure thing! (ignore literally EVERYTHING about the structure, i am kind of a teeny bit new to godot)

and here is the script associated with the Game Options Menu node:

extends Control

#variables for the paths of the options, to save retyping same code
@onready var pathPotSlider = “VBoxContainer/Initial Pot/VBoxContainer/HSlider”
@onready var pathPotLabel = “VBoxContainer/Initial Pot/VBoxContainer/Label”
@onready var pathPlayersDropDown = “VBoxContainer/Opponent Drop Down/OptionButton”
@onready var pathTimeDropDown = “VBoxContainer/Turn Length/OptionButton”

signal startGame(opponentNum, buyInAmount, turnLength)

func _on_start_game_pressed():
#unhides self
$“.”.visible = true

func _ready():
pass

func _on_finished_pressed():
#when finished button is pressed, the start game signal is emitted which carries along
#number of opponents and the buy in amount.
#since the ids start at 0 and there is another player (YOU!) it adds 2 to compensate.
var opponentNum = get_node(pathPlayersDropDown).selected + 2
var buyInAmount = get_node(pathPotSlider).value