I need help understanding why my player is not interacting with any static bodies

Godot Version

4.2 Stable

Question

extends CharacterBody2D

Called every frame. ‘delta’ is the elapsed time since the previous frame.

func _physics_process(delta):
	var speed = 5
	var velocity_x = Vector2(1,0)
	var velocity_y = Vector2(0,1)
	if Input.is_action_pressed("ui_down") or Input.is_key_pressed(KEY_S):
		move_and_collide(velocity_y*speed)
		print("Down")
	if Input.is_action_pressed("ui_up") or Input.is_key_pressed(KEY_W):
		move_and_collide(-velocity_y*speed)
		print("Up")
	if Input.is_action_pressed("ui_left") or Input.is_key_pressed(KEY_A):
		move_and_collide(-velocity_x*speed)
		print("Left")
	if Input.is_action_pressed("ui_right") or Input.is_key_pressed(KEY_D):
		move_and_collide(velocity_x*speed)
		print("Right")

I’ve been at this for a week and I can’t find anyone with my problem that has gotten help that solved the problem. I’m a beginner at this so please help me figure this out.

1 Like

Code looks good, but as the state in the documentation, you should factor in delta to the velocity vector to stay frame-rate independent (despite the physics rate meant to be steady).
Also it might be better to move your player only once, as with your current code, imagine pressing all WASD keys, you will actually move down, then up, then left, then right.

var speed = 5
	var velocity = Vector2.ZERO
	if Input.is_action_pressed("ui_down") or Input.is_key_pressed(KEY_S):
		velocity.y += 1
		print("Down")
	if Input.is_action_pressed("ui_up") or Input.is_key_pressed(KEY_W):
		velocity.y -= 1
		print("Up")
	if Input.is_action_pressed("ui_left") or Input.is_key_pressed(KEY_A):
		velocity.x -= 1
		print("Left")
	if Input.is_action_pressed("ui_right") or Input.is_key_pressed(KEY_D):
		velocity.x += 1
		print("Right")

velocity = velocity.normalized()
	move_and_collide(velocity*speed*delta)