Issue with instantaneous jump

Godot Version

<4.2>

Question

I’m making a 2d platformer type game and I’ve managed to make the following code and for the most part it works as intended but I keep having an issue where the jump is instantaneous when I’d like there to be a more gradual acceleration to max height. I’m new to coding but I’ve spent a long time trying to get it to work the way I desired and every time I try a solution it either fails to resolve the issue or causes other issues elsewhere. I’ve attached my script and my node tree is just a CharicterBody2d with both an AnimatedSprite and CollisonShape as children.

extends CharacterBody2D

@onready var ani = $AnimatedSprite2D

var movement = Vector2()
var speed = 100
var jump_ht = -10000
var fall_vel = 5
var curr_direc = "Idle"

func _ready():

pass

func _physics_process(delta):

curr_grav()
	plr_movemnt()
	move_and_slide()	

movement = movement.normalized() * speed * delta

func plr_movemnt():

var LEFT =Input.is_action_pressed("Left")
	var RIGHT =Input.is_action_pressed("Right")
	var JUMP =Input.is_action_just_pressed("Jump")

movement.x = -int(LEFT) + int(RIGHT) 
	movement.y = -int(JUMP)

if movement.x != 0:
		velocity.x = movement.x * speed
	else:
		velocity.x = 0

if is_on_floor() and JUMP:
		ani.play("up")
		velocity.y += jump_ht

func curr_grav():
	var new_grav = grav_force.new()

velocity.y = fall_vel

if !is_on_floor():
		fall_vel += new_grav.grav_str

if is_on_floor():
		fall_vel = 5

if fall_vel >= new_grav.term_vel:
		fall_vel = new_grav.term_vel

# Animation controller
func _process(_delta): ...

Thank you for any advice you can offer