Leaving dead grass when swiping grass with a sword

:information_source: Attention Topic was automatically imported from the old Question2Answer platform.
:bust_in_silhouette: Asked By sCabab1359

i have grass and i can hit it. i also made it collide-able so that you cant just run through it. i wanted it to have a remanence of the grass after i cut it, like on zelda a link to the past so i added this script

func create_dead_grass():
var DeadGrass = load(“res://World/DeadGrass.tscn”)
var deadGrass = DeadGrass.instance()
var world = get_tree().current_scene
world.add_child(deadGrass)
deadGrass.global_position = global_position

now when i cut the grass it leaves the deadgrass node but i appears infront of the player when he walks by it. how do i get it to sit in the background? im guessing it has to do with “deadGrass.global_position = global_position” but im not sure where it should go… i am new to GODOT and game creation. please go easy on me.

this is the entire script for my grass node. extends Node2D

func create_grass_effect():
var GrassEffect = load(“res://Effects/GrassEffect.tscn”)
var grassEffect = GrassEffect.instance()
world.add_child(grassEffect)
grassEffect.global_position = global_position

world.add_child(deadGrass)

func _on_HurtBox_area_entered(_area):
create_grass_effect()
queue_free()
create_dead_grass()

thans for any help

I dont thin k thats it since dead grass does not exist as a scene in this game. i would send a picture but this forum does not allow it i guess??? enter image description here

sCabab1359 | 2020-11-08 20:34

:bust_in_silhouette: Reply From: aipie

It probably has to do with your dead-grass node to be added after the player in the scene.
Nodes are drawn from top to bottom.

If you would look in the remote scene tree (when your game is running), it will be the last in the tree.

Suppose your ‘real’ grass is added to a regular node.