move_and_slide of two stacked KinematicBody2D not working consistently

:information_source: Attention Topic was automatically imported from the old Question2Answer platform.
:bust_in_silhouette: Asked By welkin25

Hi all, I’m new to Godot and am following a 2D platformer tutorial ( https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Mc13Z2gboEk ). This tutorial implements Player and Enemy, both are KinematicBody2D nodes with rectangular CollisionShape2Ds. After implementing the _physics_process methods with move_and_slide on both (Player controlled by player, Enemy move left and right), about 2/3 into the video, I tried playing the game and making the player land on enemy. I haven’t implemented the “stomping/enemy death” code yet, so i had expected that the player might just get carried by enemy that keeps going back and forth. However, this only happens a fraction of the time. Other times the Enemy simply stops moving, and yet another fraction of the time the Enemy would stop for a while and then continue to move.

This is enemy’s code:

func _physics_process(delta: float) -> void:
_velocity.y += gravity * delta
if is_on_wall():
	_velocity.x *= -1
var old_velocity := _velocity
_velocity.y = move_and_slide(_velocity, FLOOR_NORMAL).y
print("Enemy", old_velocity, _velocity)

I added print statement trying to figure out what’s going on, but in either case (Enemy carries Player back and forth or stop moving), Enemy’s velocity is nonzero both before and after move_and_slide call.