Need help with colon-at-end-of-line error when there is already one there?

:information_source: Attention Topic was automatically imported from the old Question2Answer platform.
:bust_in_silhouette: Asked By Euergetes

Back again with another newbie question:

I am quite new at all this but am learning and finding my way around, and getting used to some of the GDScript coding. Albeit, some things still take me days to figure out. To prevent the following from doing so, here we go…

In my 1976 Atari PONG simulation, I have re-combined the paddles from their own scenes back to the main scene, thinking this was causing problems in the separate scripts. This didn’t work. No sooner did I discover a missing character, I ran into another problem…

I got an error in a conditional line stating ‘:’ expected at end of line. Well, I already have a colon there. I am assuming I’m most likely trying to use dated coding. 3.1 features a lot of changes to the GDScript language itself, which has been causing a lot of frustration for me. The following is the script in-progress and the error is occurring in the If statements. As you can see there are already colons at the end of these lines…

func _process(delta):

var ballPosition = get_node("/root/Node2D/Sprite/Ball").get_position()
var p1Posit = get_node("/root/Node2D/CanvasLayer/p1").get_position()
var p2Posit = get_node("/root/Node2D/CanvasLayer/p2").get_position()
var velocity = Vector2()
if p1Posit.y Input.is_action_pressed("ui_a"):
	position += delta * Vector2(0, -500)
if p1Posit.y Input.is_action_pressed("ui_z"):
	position += delta * Vector2(0, 500)
if p2Posit.y Input.is_action_pressed("ui_up"):
	position += delta * Vector2(0, -500)
if p2Posit.y Input.is_action_pressed("ui_down"):
	position += delta * Vector2(0, 500)

position += velocity * delta
position.y = clamp(position.y, 20, 960)