Scope creep - Beginners trap?

I am a Hobbyist when it comes to coding, and game making is one of the things I’m trying to have a feel on at the moment
Right after I created a flappy bird clone, I start to get in over my head
next up? top down tower defense, I started to think to myself “Now would probably be a good time to try something a bit more…professional”
So I started to abstract everything, everything needs a class, this scene tree needs to be replicated by other scenes
To put a long story short: I didn’t even get to making the game, but it was already beyond spaghetti, had to remake it entirely and immediately made aspects of the game in question without needing to pre-make a bunch of abstractions I won’t use

My question is, does this happen a lot? with how I experienced it, I think this is something of a trap of sorts, if you don’t know of scope creep, even from simple things like “mm maybe this script can be used as a class for other scripts” could derail the entire coding process from “Kind of managable” to “It’s been 5 days and all I’ve written is boilerplate that will never be used”
What is your way of avoiding doing something unnecessary that has the potential to derail your game’s progress to completion?

It definitely happens a ton! My advice would be to treat every game as a prototype initially and just try out aspects. I often make multiple separate projects even to test out individual parts of a game. Like what I want a jumping and moving to feel like, or how a specific code driven room transition animation should behave.