Trouble with clamping 3d camera on y axis

Godot Version

Question

Hey I am having a bit of trouble with my camera script. I am clamping both the y and x axis but the y axis is giving me some trouble. Instead of clamping and looking at the desired direction it turns 180 degrees then clamps so basically looking backwards

Here is the code

if event is InputEventMouseMotion && camMove:

cam.rotate_x(deg_to_rad(-event.relative.y * mouseSens))
		camBall.global_rotate(Vector3.UP, (deg_to_rad(-event.relative.x * mouseSens)))

cam.rotation.x = clamp(cam.rotation.x, deg_to_rad(-30.0), deg_to_rad(30.0))
		camBall.rotation.y = clamp(camBall.rotation.y, deg_to_rad(-60.0), deg_to_rad(60.0))

I am new to gdscript and very bad at coding in general :slight_smile:

Is camBall’s y rotation 0 in the editor? Sounds like it might be facing the wrong direction by default.

For example if it’s y rotation is 180 in the editor then you have to calculate the clamp values from that, so it would be 120 - 240 (60 degrees to each direction from 180).

Yeah the rotation is 0.

Sorry for the late reply been really busy

What’s the reasoning for separating the camera’s rotation into two nodes (cam and camBall)? Perhaps you could explain your node setup for your camera so the context is more clear. We don’t know the hierarchy of these two nodes.

My guess is that your setup is causing your issue.

Oh yeah sorry about that, I am very new at this stuff.

So I have a 3d node on the player characters location with another 3d node as it’s child to allow for camera rotation around the player then I have another 3d node child to that child which is away from the player that handles the distance of the camera from the player then that one has a 3d node child which is the camBall then childed to that one is the cam, both camBall and cam has code to allow for looking around when holding middle mouse button and moving the mouse. So the hierarchy goes camBody → camBodyBall → camDistance → camBall → cam.