Trying to create a hitbox/object to track mouse position at all times

Godot Version v4.2.1

I’ve completed the tutorial on creating your first 2d Godot game, and wanted to make a variance where your mouse cursor is the player, wherein it would detect collisions and exist in the play area. I’ve looked every but I still haven’t found any solution to what is basically setting the player/hitbox position to the mouse cursors position. This is my first time using GScript without the guide so I’ve gotten a little lost sorry. Ty for any help it’s much appreciated <3

I would recommend you start by figuring out how to get something to follow the mouse. I’m not talking about custom cursors, but using actual physics impulses to move an object toward the mouse.

Since you’re talking about physics (at least I think you are) you can’t just set the position of the physics object directly. You might want to look into things like:

move_and_collide()

or

applying impulses and forces to a RigidBody2D, depending on the actual mechanics you’re talking about.

If you’re not talking about actual physics and you’re just looking to detect whether the mouse is within an Area2D or other object (like a button), the above would not apply.

Either way, try breaking the problem down into smaller chunks. If you want the mouse to be the player, maybe just focus on how to move a sprite toward the mouse and go from there. Take manageable bites! Good luck! We’ll be here if/when you have other questions!

2 Likes

Thank you for the help !
I think its kind of a problem of
I wouldn’t exactly need a sprite or player character over the cursor, as much as like -
basically needing to know whenever the cursor in the 2d area collides with another hitbox
Just kind of attaching a hitbox to the mouse.
Sorry I know it sounds a little weird but seriously thank you so much ! <3

Did you figure out how to do it?
If not, I could provide you with some of the ideas I would implement to make the collision work

1 Like