Why won't godot detect that my character is on the floor

:information_source: Attention Topic was automatically imported from the old Question2Answer platform.
:bust_in_silhouette: Asked By Luke Fenstad

I’m new to the engine and can’t tell what’s wrong with my code. Every time I run the game, it lets me jump once and then won’t let me jump again. The problem is with my CoyoteTime variable. The code is supposed to set it to true whenever you’re on the ground, but for some reason, it doesn’t reset. Here is all the code I have:

extends CharacterBody2D

const SPEED = 175.0
const JUMP_VELOCITY = -220.0

var gravity = 620
var CoyoteTime = true

func _physics_process(delta):
# Add the gravity.
if not is_on_floor():
velocity.y += gravity * delta

# Jumps and turns down gravity
if Input.is_action_just_pressed("ui_accept") and CoyoteTime == true:
	velocity.y = JUMP_VELOCITY
	gravity = 400
	$JumpTimer.start()
	CoyoteTime = false

Turns Gravity back up when jump is released

if Input.is_action_just_released("ui_accept"):
	gravity = 600
# Get the input direction and handle the movement/deceleration.
var direction = Input.get_axis("ui_left", "ui_right")
if direction:
	velocity.x = direction * SPEED
else:
	velocity.x = move_toward(velocity.x, 0, SPEED)

move_and_slide()

func _on_jump_timer_timeout():
gravity = 620

if is_on_floor():
	CoyoteTime = true

if not is_on_floor() and velocity.y > 0:
	$CoyoteTimer.start()

func _on_coyote_timer_timeout():
CoyoteTime = false

1 Like
:bust_in_silhouette: Reply From: rhennig

Ok, to start, check in the inspector if, at your CharacterBody2D, the “Motion Mode” is set to grounded and the “up direction” in y is -1.

Yeah, both of those are set like that. Anything else I can do?

Luke Fenstad | 2023-06-21 17:33

Ok, so probably your timer is smaller than the time of your jump.

So the “_on_jump_timer_timeout()” function fires with the player on air and so “CoyoteTime” will never become true again…

Try to decrease: