Achieving better mouse input in Godot 4: The perfect camera controller

Achieving better mouse input in Godot 4: The perfect camera controller

Input accumulation, mouse events, raw data, stretch independent sensitivity… and why you never multiply mouse input by delta

Hello there! I’m Freeman! I’m a game developer who uses a full open source workflow and tries to help the community in whatever I can.

As a long time Godot user I often see issues related with mouse input in games, tutorials, and demos. From clear frame dependent input because the wrong use of Delta, to the infamous problem of your mouse sensitivity changing if you use Stretching or Scaling in your projects.

To help with this issues i wrote the article featured at the top of the post and a companion asset. The first part of the article is a deep dive into mouse input, how Godot approaches it, the key elements that affect it, why these issues happen and how to solve them. The second part is a detailed tutorial to put all that we learned in practice by creating a responsive, stable, and reliable first person camera. You can download the full open source project too.

Hope it can be useful for you! I’ll be around here to answer questions! hope you have a good day!

PS: The article has no paywall, no ads and no cookies.

15 Likes

Thanks for the article! I definitely learned from it :slight_smile:

I see that you recommend turning off input accumulation, processing in _process, and using something like this in the event handler: mouse_input += event.relative.

Just to make sure I am understanding things correctly, this would be the same as turning on input accumulation, processing in _process, and using something like this in the event handler: mouse_input = event.relative.

Does that sound right?

1 Like

Hi @allenwp ! Thank you for reading it, I’m glad it was useful!

For your question:

Yes, they should be equivalent!

For capturing the mouse to use in process instead of using it directly: