How do I GET or SET singleton ( autoload ) variables in any script, in Visual script . .

:information_source: Attention Topic was automatically imported from the old Question2Answer platform.
:bust_in_silhouette: Asked By jasperbrooks79

I have made an autoload script, called GlobalVariable.vs, and added some variables there, in visual script . . But, how can they be accessed in other scripts, like maybe drag - and -drop, thx . .

I’m not sure, if making a .vs, instead of a .gd, and writing clearly, to define variables is maybe a bug, total noob . . .

I would highly recommend to switch over to GDScript. In GD accessing a global singelton is much easier. You can reffeer to it with “SingletonName.variableName”

klaas | 2020-07-20 18:27

Have you found any way to do it yet? Thanks.

Kreaninw | 2020-09-30 23:47

:bust_in_silhouette: Reply From: klaas

Hi,

1. add a “get” node
  2. set mode to “instance”
  3. set Base type to _VisualScriptEditor
  4. set Base script to your singleton … you have to switch to “all file types” in the load dialog because dialog is buggy or so
  5. select property

voila … you got your value in simple 5 steps :smiley:

or write a gd script and type “SingletonName.variableName” :wink:

When I do this, it says ’ can’t because, of invalid index ', the GET box has an obj input box, that needs an input, an ’ index ’ or, so . . Thx . . . .

jasperbrooks79 | 2020-07-20 23:54

it doesn’t work, when I try to ’ print ’ the output, it writes ’ invalid index name error ', the get box has an ’ obj ’ input port, what do I need to set that to ? <3

jasperbrooks79 | 2020-08-11 02:27

:bust_in_silhouette: Reply From: Kreaninw

To anyone who comes to this question and doesn’t find an answer yet, here is the answer:

Answered by the opener of this question himself on Github.

1. Basically, just load the .vs script file in Project Settings > AutoLoad like you normally do with the .gd script file. Then, enable the singleton.