Project Metal Entrails

Hey! I’ve been bumming around on this project for a few months and dropping updates in the godot discord. It’s survived the 2 month test, so I think it’s time to get a dev log up and running and share my progress as I go.

The Game
Metal Entrails(working title) is a sci-fi pinball metroidvania geared towards people who want to learn more about some of the more advanced pinball techniques in an approachable and gamified way.

You play as an ‘Interfacer’, a lil creature genetically engineered to extract valuable genetic material from the refinery complex where the game takes place. Your interfacer is spawned into a collapsing facility, and the overseeing AI tells you to make your way to a transit station by telepathically manipulating the various pieces of industrial machinery around the complex (flimsy flipper justification lmao) so you can be moved to a healthy facility.

Aesthetically, I’m really inspired by super pulpy sci-fi horror from the 80’s and 90’s, stuff like Alien(obviously), Event Horizon, and Heavy Metal magazine. I’m planning on dedicated a big part of my development bandwidth to visual fidelity and really show off how capable Godot is for high-quality 3D stuff (spoilers, it’s really capable!)

Currently working on:
Right now I’m smack dab in the middle of a big design and lore push. Doing stuff like writing the over-arcing narrative, figuring out the flow of the gameplay from start to finish, finding various holes and blind spots. Lots of cool stuff cooking for sure, and I’ll share as soon as it starts to get a little more fleshed out, but right now it’s all a big pile of disconnected spaghetti.

21 Likes

Wow, that looks super cool! <3

1 Like

Here’s a lil WIP shot of the player interfacer:

Godot_v4.2-stable_win64_KDAqOYnw46