Collision detection and response

Godot Version: 4.2.1

Just started using godot and i’m not very experienced. I’ve been following this video so far

I’m having trouble getting a response with a mob collision shape and the player.
When the player enters the mobs “detection area” there is no response and I have no clue why.

Here is the code so far. In advance, thank you

extends CharacterBody2D

#gravity
var gravity = ProjectSettings.get_setting("physics/2d/default_gravity")
var player 
var chase = false

func _physics_process(delta):
	# Add the gravity.
	if not is_on_floor():
		velocity.y += gravity * delta
		player = get_node("../../Player/Player")
		var direction = (player.position - self.global_position).normalized()
		if direction.x > 0:
			if chase == true:
				print("chase")
			else:
				print("nochase")
	move_and_slide()

func _on_playerdetection_body_entered(body):
	if body.name == "Player":
		chase = true

func _on_playerdetection_body_exited(body):
		chase = false

Hi! Firstly, you can use three backticks (`) at the start and end when writing your code to show it in code format, making it easier to read, this helps people help you!

Secondly, have you copied and pasted everything? I can’t see anything after this bit -

That could be the reason why it’s not working! Another possibility is that the name you’ve given your Player node may be something different, a common mistake beginners make is mixing cases. Maybe you called your player node “player” with a lower case P?

If this doesn’t help, let me know!

Hi, thanks for the answer
Yeah, in the video the creator uses print() to check if it’s working and hasn’t continued, i suspect the problem is somewhere in the mathematics of the stuff

var direction = (player.position - self.global_position).normalized()

Thanks for letting me know how to show code, it should be updated now