Connected client cannot send custom object via RPC

Godot Version

Question

Hi, I’m new to godot and multiplayer/networking, so sorry for simple questions.

So my problem is that a connected client cannot send via RPC an instance of Player object (My custom class extended by Node2D)

public partial class Player : Node2D {
    public string username;
    public long id;

public Player(long id, string username) {
        this.id = id;
        this.username = username;
    }
}

When I host and call rpc locally, everything works, but when connected client casts rpc there is error:
System.Runtime.CompilerServices.CastHelpers.ChkCastAny(System.Void*, object): System.InvalidCastException: Unable to cast object of type ‘Godot.EncodedObjectAsId’ to type ‘Player’.
<C++ Error> System.InvalidCastException

Here is sample code:

public void HostGame(string username) {
	peer.CreateServer(27105);
	Multiplayer.MultiplayerPeer = peer;

player = new(Multiplayer.GetUniqueId(), username);

Rpc("AddPlayer", player);
}

public async void JoinServer(string username) {
	peer.CreateClient("localhost", 27105);
	Multiplayer.MultiplayerPeer = peer;

player = new(Multiplayer.GetUniqueId(), username);

await ToSignal(GetTree().CreateTimer(1f), SceneTreeTimer.SignalName.Timeout);
		Rpc("AddPlayer", player);
	}

// Error here when connected client casts this RPC
[Rpc(MultiplayerApi.RpcMode.AnyPeer, CallLocal = true)]
private void AddPlayer(Player player) {
	players.Add(player);
	GD.Print(players);
}

I tried googling this problem and I found that I need to add [Tool] attribute to my Player class, but it doesn’t work (I build project after adding C# attributes like [Export] etc.)

I think I cannot cast objects? only primitives like int, long, string etc? What if I need to send more complex data, like some chunk of procedurally generated map?

Thanks for taking your time and trying to help me :slight_smile: