Godot Versus Maui

Hello everyone,

I’m a product development manager working for an education company.

We hired a few .Net Maui developers to help us create an early learning app. The app is fairly basic and involves some simple games which are really more like learning activities (puzzles, item sorts, and other activities involving dragging and dropping).

The app is about 80% complete. Progress has been slow, and results have been less than impressive. It may be the developers, .Net Maui, or a combination of both.

Examples of issues:

1. The app is sluggish and unresponsive. Loading times are long, and some animated elements (json files) either don’t work, or don’t work well (they’re jerky).

2. It has a very poor drag and drop experience (users must tap and hold on an item and wait a second before it becomes movable which is a terrible experience for little kids).

3. We’re often told that our seemingly simple requests are going to require a good deal of development time, or that they’re just not possible. Two examples: A. - We asked that our puzzle pieces have rounded edges like real puzzle pieces and were told it was going to take a significant amount of development time to make that happen. B. - We wanted cards that were part of a memory match game to flip over when tapped. We were told that might not be possible with Maui. Eventually, flipping cards were achieved, but it took months.

I recognize that the devs we hired are part of the problem, but I’ve also learned that Maui may not have been the best choice. Our company chose it because Maui could produce apps for Android, iOS, and Amazon Fire tablets from one codebase. Also, our own infrastructure supported it (not sure what that means, though).