How to access another data from another node/scene?

Godot Version

-Godot 4.2.1

Question

Hey everyone, I’m new to godot and I can’t figure out how to access data contained in another node/scene. Specifically, I’m trying to access the location of another node, so that I can move my enemy AI (a monster in this case) towards that other node. Here’s my script . . . movement_target is supposed to be accessing the MovementTarget node in the scene, but in the other parts of my code it returns “nil”, presumably because it doesn’t exist?? I’d be very grateful for any help I can get. How do I access the other node? I’m trying to access a Marker2D node, with a timer node as it’s child.

extends CharacterBody2D

enum {
    PATROL,
    CHASE,
    INVESTIGATE,
    ALERT,
}

@export var speed: int = 30
@export var slow_down_force: int = 100

var state = PATROL

@onready var target_axis
@onready var movement_target = $MovementTarget

@onready var alert_state_timer = $AlertStateTimer

func _ready():
    reset_target_axis()
    position = Vector2(250, 100)

func _physics_process(delta):
        match state:
	        PATROL:
		        patrol_towards_movement_target()
	    CHASE:
		    pass
	    INVESTIGATE:
		    pass
	    ALERT:
		    pass

func reset_target_axis():
    if movement_target != null:
	    target_axis = movement_target.axis
    else:
	    print("No node found")

func patrol_towards_movement_target():
    position += (target_axis - position) / slow_down_force

func _on_body_entered(body):
    if body.is_in_group("Player"):
	    pass
    else:
	    reset_target_axis()
	    handle_movement_direction()
	    patrol_towards_movement_target()
	    print("collision occured")

use signal or callable

Signals don’t work in this case, unless I’m misunderstanding something. I need to have constant access to the other node’s location, and update the monster location accordingly. Is there such a thing as a signal that fires off constantly? Thanks for taking the time to respond!