How to make .blend objects that are too close to camera partially transparent?

Godot Version

Question

I am new to Godot 4 and I am following many tutorials right now. I am trying to make a 3rd person game, and I already got the camera sort of ok, thanks to https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j_rf8zc5kTE however, when the camera looks at the character from the ground (see around 3:48 in the Youtube video to see this), it just blocks the view and the player can’t see anything above at all.

So I am trying to make the character partially transparent to fix this problem. In fact, what I would like to do is to make whatever 3D models that are too close or obstruct the view of the player partially transparent.

I found Transparent objects between camera and player using RayCast and set_albedo but the thing is my 3D model is a .blend file, and when I drag and drop the resource to the scene, it became just a Node3D and from the editor, there is no “Change Type” in the right click menu of this Node3D that housed the blender file. How can I access the materials and such of my 3D model in this case?

So in this case, how to take care of this issue for .blend files here?

You’ll need to get the materials from the .blend scene and modify the Distance fade Standard Material 3D and ORM Material 3D — Godot Engine (stable) documentation in English

To get all the materials of the .blend file you’ll need to:

Example of an EditorScenePostImport script:

@tool
extends EditorScenePostImport

func _post_import(scene):
	iterate(scene)
	return scene

func iterate(node):
	if node != null:
		if node is MeshInstance3D:
			for surface in node.mesh.get_surface_count():
				var material = node.get_active_material(surface) as BaseMaterial3D
				material = material.duplicate()
				material.distance_fade_mode = BaseMaterial3D.DISTANCE_FADE_OBJECT_DITHER
				material.distance_fade_min_distance = 2.0
				material.distance_fade_max_distance = 3.0