Instantiating thousands of blocks gives big performance drop

Godot Version

Question

I’m pretty new at Godot and game development in general. I made a for loop that instances thousands of scenes of a cube mesh, creating a sort of 3d floating island.

Takes about 30 seconds to generate, and drops the fps tremendously when it loads. So I’m sure I am going about this the wrong way. What’s the best approach for generating lots of objects?

My goal is to make a pseudo-Minecraft type of game that uses beveled blocks instead of cubes, so it’s important that players be able to remove these blocks. Is there anything I should look into to better inform myself?

my thought would be, because it’s instantiated and added child, it’s always rendered per draw call, so anything inside that not much important and cant be seen could just be set to visible=false

Even setting the visibility to false on all instanced blocks isn’t improving performance by much. Getting the same low fps. Thanks for the suggestion though. Really curious why it’s still so laggy…

i read about using MultiMeshInstance3d able to generate lots of stuff without fps drop, then i found this Visibility ranges (HLOD) — Godot Engine (stable) documentation in English

and this

I wish there was more information on this. Really clueless as to where to begin.

Have you read the official docs about 3D optimization? I think that’s a good place to start.
If you want to make a Minecraft-style game, you probably have to approach it in a Minecraft-style manner. Minecraft support worlds of unlimited sizes. That doesn’t mean that Minecraft create unlimited amounts of blocks at the same time. You have to “fake” the user experience. Create as much as the user sees, and skip the blocks that are affected by culling. And if you want a beveled look, those kind of blocks only are necessary to render close to the player. And perhaps a shader could create the beveled look, rather than using extra meshes to each cube?