Multithreading intersect_ray() / raycasts

Godot Version

Question

Hi hi!
I’m doing some tests with multi-threading. I’ve got a use case in which I want to deal with many thousands of batched raycasts, I’ve got a lot of leeway with how fast those should be executed so doing those on a separate thread makes a lot of sense to me.

I’ve made a quick prototype script in GDScript to sort things out since I’m new to multi-threading. My code seems to work fine, I’m able to execute many many thousands of raycasts on a single worker thread, maintaining 60 fps.

I verify my ray-cast results by drawing debug spheres on hit-positions, and lines on no hits, which works almost entirely as desired, very few raycasts give me this error:

MultithreadedRaycaster.gd:41 @ ray_cast(): Condition "space->locked" is true. Returning: false

According to the docs:

… Due to this, the only time accessing space is safe is during the Node._physics_process() callback. Accessing it from outside this function may result in an error due to space being locked.
Ray-casting — Godot Engine (stable) documentation in English

It is explained why this error happens, but not what locked exactly means or entails.
Does this mean it simply isn’t able to execute the raycast, or does it mean the space state information is outdated but is still able to execute the intersect_ray function (Which is what it looks like)?

Global Scope singletons are all thread-safe. Accessing servers from threads is supported (for RenderingServer and Physics servers, ensure threaded or thread-safe operation is enabled in the project settings!).
Thread-safe APIs — Godot Engine (stable) documentation in English

I cannot find any setting related to “threaded or thread-safe operation”. I don’t know if this is deprecated because this page has not been updated yet for 4.2, but it seems like this might alleviate the issue.