RigidBody3D random teleporting

Godot Version

v.4.2.1.stable.mono.official [b09f793f5]

Question

I am a beginner to using Godot in 3D space and I am trying to get to know it by creating a simple space fighter sim. I started out having my player controlled as a CharacterBody3D but then converted it to a RigidBody3D in order to be able to apply forces.

Now during my trial and error on how to use that I stumbled upon strange position glitches which turned out to happen, even if I do not apply forces. After a random number of seconds the position of my RigidBody teleports to a different, yet repeatable position.
If I apply a force it changes depending on the value I set.

I have to admit that I really do not understand what I am doing wrong and I have trouble finding posts with similar issues.

Here is my node tree for my Player Object (which is to be a spacefighter)

Player [RigidBody3D]
-- Camera3D [Camera3D]
-- ShipA [Node3D imported from a Blenderfile]
-- CollisionShape3D [CollisionShape3D with a simple BoxCollider]

Here is the code which handles mouse-based steering and a simple force appliance for moving (which is currently not working, there is still some bug in force-apply - nothing happens when pushing the button, but that is another topic)

extends RigidBody3D

var direction
var scaled_mouse_pos_x
var scaled_mouse_pos_y

var mouse_range_min = 0.01
var mouse_range_max = 0.9

var rot_vel_x
var rot_vel_y

func _process(delta):
	# Throttle
	direction = Input.get_axis("ui_up", "ui_down")

# Deactivation of add_constant_force() does not prevent glitch, but changes the "random" position
	add_constant_force(-1000 * delta * direction * transform.basis.x)

# Handle mouse rotation
	scaled_mouse_pos_x = (get_viewport().get_mouse_position().x - (get_viewport().size.x / 2)) / (get_viewport().size.x / 2)
	scaled_mouse_pos_y = (get_viewport().get_mouse_position().y - (get_viewport().size.y / 2)) / (get_viewport().size.y / 2)