Solaria - minimalist solarpunk city builder (WIP)

Hi all! Thought I’d share my in-progress city builder project, basically because I’m proud of myself so far. Introducing Solaria, the minimalist solarpunk city builder where the city builds itself!

This is my first time working with Godot (came over from Unity during Summer) and it’s been quite the learning curve especially since I ignored everyone’s recommendations and went straight in with Godot 4. I’d also only ever tried 3d once before, for a game jam, so naturally when deciding on a plan for my first “real” game a brand new engine and a 3d concept made perfect sense!

Here’s progress so far, as you can see it’s early days but I think it’s coming together nicely.

So far the biggest struggle was citizen navigation, I’d somehow avoided doing any AI pathfinding despite game devving for three years. But with a bit of help from Mastodon and a LOT of trial and error, we got there in the end!

Currently embroiled in the boring part where you have to take all the fun systems you’ve made, and actually string them together into a game. But it’s all planned out…perhaps a bit too much lol.

Hopefully I’ll have a lot more updates to add to this thread as we go, but if you prefer visual devlogs here’s the first one:

More videos soon although my plans got derailed a bit by catching covid. Such is life.

You can also find me on:

40 Likes

Welcome! :slight_smile: I also started with Godot just recently and also jumped right into 4.x. I must say, I like it a lot. Only the Web-Export has some issues on iOS/macOS, but apart from that, I have a blast (mainly using Unreal or Custom Engines).

I’m not very familiar with Unity, so I wonder, are things very different comparing Unity and Godot? From my Unity-noob-perspective I had the impression that Unity and Godot are similar, but it seems, I was very wrong about that? Would love to learn more about the differences.

Your game looks super nice and I love solar-punk! <3

3 Likes