Using is_on_ceiling() to detect if CharacterBody2D is colliding with a ceiling doesn't work correctly

Godot Version

Question

Hello, I’m new to Godot and i’m trying to make the player (CharacterBody2D) squeeze when i press a certain key. and unsqueeze if there’s no ceiling over it. i made the squeezing part work but it seems to not care about ceilings and vibrate up and down when it tries to unsqueeze under a ceiling
This the code im using right now

if Input.is_action_pressed("squish") and $CollisionShape2D.scale.y > 0.25:
		$CollisionShape2D.scale.y -= 0.015625
		$CollisionShape2D.position.y += 1
		$Sprite2D.position.y += 1 			
		$Sprite2D.scale.y -= 0.015625
	elif $CollisionShape2D.scale.y < 1 and not is_on_ceiling():
		print(is_on_ceiling())
		$CollisionShape2D.scale.y += 0.015625
		$CollisionShape2D.position.y -= 1
		$Sprite2D.position.y -= 1
		$Sprite2D.scale.y += 0.015625

Thanks in advance!

I’m not sure if that will be the cause of problem but Godot documentation explict says to not change CollisionShape2D scale and that can result in unexpected behavior

From Godot physics introdution documentation:

Important

Be careful to never scale your collision shapes in the editor. The “Scale” property in the Inspector should remain (1, 1). When changing the size of the collision shape, you should always use the size handles, not the Node2D scale handles. Scaling a shape can result in unexpected collision behavior.

So i recommend you start from there

I changed my code to use shape size handles. but it still has the same results.
Here’s the new code

if Input.is_action_pressed("squish") and $CollisionShape2D.shape.size.y > 32:
		$CollisionShape2D.shape.size.y -= 1
		$Sprite2D.scale.y -= 0.0078125
elif $CollisionShape2D.shape.size.y < COLLISION_SHAPE_Y and not is_on_ceiling():
		$CollisionShape2D.shape.size.y += 1
		$Sprite2D.scale.y += 0.0078125

Can you share the project for me take a look?