Cannot call method 'get' on a null value

Godot Version

v4.3

Question

The error i’m recieving is:
Cannot call method ‘get’ on a null value.

on the last line of this code

I’m also recieving these errors:

So i’m assuming for some reason my code isn’'t recieving the animation tree and animation player nodes from my scene tree evcen though they are in it.
I’m new to coding, so is there anything I’m missing? Thanks

Hi ! I think it’s you who got the path between AnimationPlayer and AnimationTree wrong, you can try dragging the node into the code and pressing the ctrl key when you release it :grin:
This will get the exact path to the node, and you should replace lines 22 and 23 of the code :kissing:
As for you saying “Cannot call method ‘get’ on a null value.”, it is also due to the wrong path in the above two lines of code, and the two variables are assigned null, just follow the steps above to change it :stuck_out_tongue_closed_eyes:
If the node is not in the scene, instantiate the node first :kissing: :kissing:
I don’t speak English well, it’s machine translated :slightly_smiling_face:

Hello! Thanks for your reply, However when I tried dragging the node into the code and pressing ctrl when releasing, it is still turning up with the same issue. How do i instatiate the node? Thanks.

It says relative to “/root/Player” this script may be accidentally attacthed to the wrong node or a Autoload/Global

the cannot call method get on a null value error is an order of operations error, @onready doesn’t specify which variables should be loaded first, you should convert these variables to use the _ready() function like so

var animation_tree: AnimationTree
var state_machine: AnimationNodeStateMachinePlayback

func _ready() -> void:
    animation_tree = $AnimationTree
    state_machine = animation_tree.get("parameters/playback")

Hello! Thanks for the reply!
I tried implementing what you suggested, however it still comes up with the same issue