Delay in RigidBody2D Contact Monitor

Godot Version

v4.2.1.stable.official [b09f793f5]

Question

Hi, I’m new in Godot, trying to implement a ball character controller for a platformer via RigidBody2D. I currently have working code, but it introduces a noticable delay between jumps. The timer does not cause the problem, it is there to prevent multiple impulses in consecutive frames. I suspect there is some kind of delay in the contact monitor contact reporting. ChatGPT is not able to help me with this. Will anyone be able to look at it?

extends RigidBody2D

@export var movement_strength := 500
@export var jump_strength := 600

var collisions: Array = []

func _physics_process(delta: float):
	$RayCast2D.rotation = -rotation
        $RayCast2D.force_raycast_update()

if $RayCast2D.is_colliding() and get_colliding_bodies().size() == 0:
            # This is the case when the body is colliding, but the contact monitor is not reporting it
            # It breaks when I put breakpoint here
	        pass

var movement_intent := Input.get_action_strength("ui_right") - Input.get_action_strength("ui_left")

apply_central_force(Vector2(movement_intent, 0) * movement_strength)

if Input.is_action_pressed("ui_accept") and $JumpTimer.is_stopped():
		for pair in collisions:
			var point = pair[0]
			var object = pair[1]

var jump_direction: Vector2 = (global_position - point).normalized()

var jump_force: Vector2 = jump_direction * jump_strength / collisions.size()

apply_central_impulse(jump_force)

if object is RigidBody2D:
				object.apply_impulse(-jump_force, object.to_local(point))

$JumpTimer.start()

func _integrate_forces(state: PhysicsDirectBodyState2D) -> void:
	var current_collisions: Array = []

for i in state.get_contact_count():
		var collision_point = state.get_contact_collider_position(i)

# store all collisions in the lower quarter of the body
		if collision_point.y - global_position.y > $CollisionShape2D.shape.radius / 4: