Help With Screen Clamping

Godot Version

Question

Hey everyone,

I’m trying to figure out a way of preventing my character from flying off the screen. I have managed to sort of setup some bounds but they’re not in line with the viewport. The character hits the boundary at the left and bottom of the screen but there is none for the top and right side.

I’m very new to GD Script (and programming in general) so some help with this would be greatly apprciated! I’ve attached a snippet of my code.

Thanks!

Please paste your code here instead of using a screenshot. You can use the </> button here to wrap the code in triple backticks (```) to format it properly.

Firstly, I feel like you might prefer to set up some physical walls with collision shapes, instead of relying on clamp(). You can use StaticBody2D nodes (with a WorldBoundaryShape2D) for this. Refer to the documentation here: Physics introduction — Godot Engine (stable) documentation in English

But if you want to use clamp, I suspect your problem is related to how get_viewport().size works. The viewport size is the size of physical pixels on the screen that the actual window takes up. However, this might not match your game’s actual units, for example if you apply any zoom or stretch/maximize the window.

So, to get the actual size of the visible area, you should use get_viewport_rect().size instead.

Additionally, you should perform the clamping after calling move_and_slide(), since move_and_slide() will change the position. Otherwise your character will appear to sink into the edges a bit if the player holds a direction.

Thanks for response!

I have tried using get_viewport_rect().size but I keep getting an error saying "Function “get_viewport_rect()” not found in base self.

1 Like

Sorry, I hadn’t noticed you were using CharacterBody3D instead of CharacterBody2D.

Try using get_viewport().get_visible_rect().size instead.

Sadly, that get’s me the same result…