How can I move and rotate an isometric camera in 3D?

Godot Version

Question

Hello!

I’m new in Godot and game development in general and I’ve been having some troubles setting up a camera.

Basically I want to create an isometric camera that allows movement (up, down, left, right) and rotation every 90 degrees.

I have a Camera3D node set as orthographic that is rotated -30 on X and 45 in Y. I’m using it as a child of a node3D because I want it to rotate around the center of what the camera is looking at.

I’m moving the camera by changing the position of the Node3D in the z and x axis, but when I rotate it (90 degrees in Y) every input changes, which makes sense. If I rotate 180 degrees now every input is inverted, up is down, left is right, etc.

I don’t know how to move the camera so that ‘left’ is always ‘left’ independently of how the camera is rotated. How could I achieve this?

Sorry for the noob question! Thanks!

2 Likes

You lost me at “rotation every 90 degrees”

I mean rotating the camera in 90 degrees intervals.

That’s a Unity tutorial that does something similar…

Sorry if I didn’t explain it correctly, English is not my first language.

I do something like this:

if Input.is_action_pressed("camera_move_left"):
	translate(-transform.basis.x * _CAMERA_MOVE_SPEED * delta)
elif Input.is_action_pressed("camera_move_right"):
	translate(transform.basis.x * _CAMERA_MOVE_SPEED * delta)
if Input.is_action_pressed("camera_move_forward"):
	translate(-transform.basis.z * _CAMERA_MOVE_SPEED * delta)
elif Input.is_action_pressed("camera_move_backward"):
	translate(transform.basis.z * _CAMERA_MOVE_SPEED * delta)

Basically you have move the camera along it’s forward and sideways vectors (transform.basis.z and x)

1 Like

I don’t want the camera to move “forward” and “back”, that would be pretty much zooming.