How to Link a Character's Life to OS time?

(Using Godot Version 4)

Hello! I’m very new to Godot, and I’d like to have a game where a character’s needs are tied to the operating system’s time. For example, every 3 hours of real world time, the character needs to eat. When it’s 10pm operating system time, the character goes to sleep, etc. I understand this might be rather complicated, but any help is appreciated!

Operating System Testing

In a nutshell, this demo shows how you can get information from the operating system, or interact with the operating system.

The Time singleton is used to access system date and time.

1 Like

Thank you! I will download that and take a look through it. I also wonder if I couldn’t just get the date time and then add a timer that adds however many seconds from “birth” that the character needs to eat, and so on

It talks about timers:

# Make a one-shot timer and wait for it to finish.
	await get_tree().create_timer(1.0).timeout

If I understand the question correctly.

To be honest I’m so new to gdscipt that I’m having trouble wrapping my head around it, but I’ll get there! I know there’s also a timer node, but it counts down to zero. I’d like a timer that counts up, and when it reaches a certain point, like the third day of “birth” there’s a 20% chance of character dying as it continues to count up.

Godot has very good documentation. You could start there.

It’s not that in a nutshell. The command is get_unix_time_from_system(). You have to convert that data into an integer. Mix that data with a Date. For example get_unix_time_from_datetime_string( String datetime ). Still convert it to integer. And have a way to compare the two. The timer is really easy. Just make a timer add to a Value every time. It’s easy. But, this time only works when the program is running. That’s why electronics have their own batteries.