How to make a ball change its direction when colliding?

Godot Version

Godot V4.2

Question

I’m trying to make a ping pong game where the ball lands on a paddle and changes direction, I’m a newbie to Godot so I felt like this could help me learn the engine more, but I’ve ran into a problem where once the ball lands on the paddle, it still stays in a vertical movement and doesn’t change the direction it’s going to. Here’s my code, let me know what I am doing wrongly here.

extends CharacterBody2D

const SPEED = 200
var dir = Vector2.DOWN

func _physics_process(delta):
	velocity = dir * delta * SPEED
	rotation_degrees = randf_range(0, 360)
	var collision = move_and_collide(velocity * SPEED * delta)
	if collision:
		dir = dir.bounce(collision.get_normal())

I can provide any additional screenshots later, Thanks to anyone willing to help out :grinning:

Besides your odd rotation_degrees = randf_range(0, 360) it looks like it should be working (based on Godot Docs)

I would like to point out that your velocity computation is wrong.

# What you're doing
velocity = dir * delta * SPEED
move_and_collide(velocity * speed * delta)

# What you should be doing
velocity = dir * SPEED
move_and_collide(velocity * delta)

After this change, your SPEED likely needs to be lowered.

Curious question

What is the purpose of this line:

2 Likes

Oh well, I want it so that the ball changes it’s degrees therefore changing the direction it’s facing to randomly.

Also I’ll try applying the correct velocity computation. But could you also explain to me how each velocity computation works so that I can know how to do it on my own?

…I want it so that the ball changes it’s degrees therefore changing the direction it’s facing to randomly.

Okay, but in every physics update?

Your question

…could you also explain to me how each velocity computation works…?

Sure thing.

Velocity: