I'm trying to make a timer to update an object, but when I press the button that starts the start() function, which in turn starts the start() function, errors occur

Godot Version

Question

Hi all, I’m trying to make a timer to update an object, but when I press the button that starts function, which in turn starts the start() function, errors occur. I am new to Godot and may have done something wrong. I have attached the code below:

extends Node3D

class_name Building_barrack

var level = 1
var upgrade_cost = 100
var upgrade_time = 5.0
var сapacity = 20

func start_upgrade():
if can_upgrade():
GameGlobal.money_d -= upgrade_cost
$UpdateTimer.start()

func upgrade():
level += 1
upgrade_cost += 100

func can_upgrade():
if level == 1:
if GameGlobal.money_d > upgrade_cost:
return true

func _ready():
pass

func _process(delta):
pass

func _unhandled_input(event):
if event is InputEventMouseButton:
if event.button_index == MOUSE_BUTTON_LEFT:
if event.pressed:
print("Left button was clicked at ", event.position)

func _on_update_timer_timeout():
upgrade()

1 Like

What’s the error that you’re getting?

Attemt to call function ‘start’ in base ‘null instance’ on a null instance

If this is the line that causes the error

$UpdateTimer.start()

then what that means is that it can’t find the node at the path “UpdateTimer”. This means that the node this script is attached to does not have a node called “UpdateTimer” as a direct child. Either the node is somewhere else or you spelled the name wrong.

Yes, this line, but timer name is true

I think you should start with creating an onready var for the Timer.

You can type it out like:
@onready var timer: Timer = $UpdateTimer

But better yet, drag UpdateTimer from your scene window, and hold left CTRLwhen dropping it in your code box. It will create an onready var for you with the correct path.

replace $UpdateTimer in can_upgrade() with the onreadyvar you just created, in my case: timer.start()