Multiple Animation handling

Godot 4.2.2

When creating a top down 2d RPG that will have multiple weapons all with different animations assigned to the weapons EX:( Short sword animation will be visually different from an Great sword and so on for how ever many weapons will be added) what is the best method in handling all the different animations? I’ve read that a state machine paired with an animation player and animation tree is best, while I’ve also read you can easily achieve multiple different animations with just an animated 2d sprite and some lines of code. - I am a straight up Noob to animation and scripting and it’s been difficult to wrap my head around. Any input would be awesome, Thanks!!

If the different weapons are different scenes then you can add a unique AnimationPlayer to each one, and use the same animation names for “Attack” or “Block”. In that case a script might look like this

func attack_with_sword() -> void:
    var sword := $SwordSlot.get_child(0) as Node2D
    if sword:
        var animation_player := sword.get_node("AnimationPlayer") as AnimationPlayer
        animation_player.play("Attack")
    else:
        push_warning("No sword in sword slot!")

If your swords are merely animated sprites you could save each SpriteFrames resource for each sword.

Hard to recommend either one without more information, what do you have so far?

2 Likes