NavigationAgent2D with Layered TileMap

Godot Version

Question

Hi Godot Community!

I’m new to Godot and currently struggling with a NavigationAgent2D and multi-layer TileMap & TileSet issue in my game. The TileMap has two layers: ground and trees.

• TileSet Layers: My TileSet includes a navigation layer for all ground tiles and a physics layer for the tree tiles. The trees are set with a physics layer in the TileSet editor, causing collisions with players and enemies correctly.

• The Issue: Enemies, using NavigationAgent2D, don’t navigate around the trees; they aim straight through them. This is evident as the navigation path is displayed for debugging in real-time.

• A Specific Observation: When I place the tree tiles on the ground layer of the TileMap, the navigation agent successfully finds a way around them. However, this leads to a visual issue where the trees look somewhat broken due to the transparent background showing the default background

• My Confusion: I assumed that defining a navigation layer and a physics layer for trees would guide NavigationAgent2D about passable and impassable tiles, no matter what TileMap layer the tiles are on. It’s puzzling why the agent fails to avoid trees on a separate layer but works when they’re on the first layer of the TileMap

I’m unsure what I’m missing in this setup, and why the navigation agent behaves differently based on the layer placement. Any insights, suggestions, or advice, especially from a beginner’s viewpoint, would be immensely helpful.

I assume you are baking the navigation mesh with e.g. a NavigationRegion2D or the NavigationServer2D. What counts for the pathfinding is the navigation mesh so naturally all physics collision is ignored if it is not somehow baked into a navigation mesh surface.