Newbie - struggling with coin pick up sound

Godot Version

Question

So, I am very new to programming in general, but for the past couple of days I have been trying to make some games in godot.

I followed this tutorial https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LOhfqjmasi0 by Brackeys, but I have since tried remaking the whole thing without looking at the tutorial and instead using the breadcrums of knowledge that I remember to force my brain to learn some of the concepts and allow me to fully understand the why behind each line of code. Also so that I could experiment and try different things.

On the subject of that last point, I got to the point where I was doing a sound effect for picking up a coin and wanted to see if I could do it differently to how he does it in the video, but was struggling because obviously as soon as queue_free() happens the coin disappears and the sound effect isnt played. I thought if I just put it in like this:

@onready var coin_sound= $coin_sound

func _on_body_entered(body):
	if body.name == "player":
		coin_sound.play()
		queue_free()

That it should work because it would play the sound and then make the coin disappear, but obviously its doing it so fast that the coin still disappears before the sound can play. I still want the coin to vanish the moment the player touches it, so I thought I could tie the sound to the player, so that when it entered the body of the coin the sound would technically come from the player but it would seem right hopefully and then tried this:

@onready var coin_sound= $coin_sound

const COIN = preload("res://Scenes/coin.tscn")

func _on_area_2d_body_entered(body):
	if body.name == COIN:
		coin_sound.play()