Null reference when trying to get reference from child

Godot Version

version 4.1.2

Question

I’ve been ripping my hair out about this for several hours now. I’m trying to get a reference to my tile map from it’s parent node. But it just returns a null reference.

Main.gd is attached to “Node2D”

I’m new to Godot, so I’m not sure if I’m just trying to do something forbidden for whatever reason. I’ve been able to find nothing online about this problem either.

Just drag the TileMap node to the script while holding Ctrl. You should get the correct path in the declaration.

Didn’t fix it, unfortunately. Still the same problem

I can think of quite a few things that might be the issue. If you’re willing to zip up your project and send it my way, I’ll be happy to run a few tests and then explain what the issue is once I find it. I’m certain I can find the issue but I’m not quite where I can do this stuff in my head yet :stuck_out_tongue:

It would be easier to locate the issue source if you put your project on GitHub, so people who are willing to help can clone it and try it out locally.

GitHub would be great. I usually default to zip because I know a lot of people, especially new programmers, don’t know git and/or it would be easier for them to just zip something up with a right click. I’m fine with either.

Gotcha! Here’s a zip file. Thanks in advance!

Thanks Zane! I’ve got an appointment shortly but I’ve downloaded this zip and will have a look this afternoon!

OK, I found the issue. You’ve got Main setup as an autoload but you also have it attached to the top-level Node2D of your Test.gd. So the instance that’s returning null is that Autoload, which gets loaded first and does not have a TileMap. You can see that in the RemoteTree shown below (shows the game’s Scene Tree at runtime)

Main.gd should not be autoloaded. Go to Project > Project Settings >Autoloads (tab) and delete Main as an autoload.