P2P proper way of freeing node

Godot Version

4.2.1 stable

What I’m doing

Hello I’m making a small party game about tanks. Each player has it’s own tank, and each player can shoot bullets in order to destroy other player’s tank. While I managed to handle most of the multiplayer stuff by myself…

I’m still new to networking things and etc. In my player script I call a function to instantiate a new bullet when player press certain action. And that function makes a rpc call to different script that only runs on the server / host.

And in that script runs all the logic to create and manage the bullets.

Everything with that works nice and smoothly,
(but if it is a bad idea to do that this way please correct me, or teach me how to use this API better).

Like I said the only problem is when I try to queue_free the bullet when it hits something or certain time passes.

Right now the logic is just a normal function called without rpc inside bullet script. I guess I need to call it by rpc, but if I do that the other error messages show up, and propably I need an authority set in order for this to work, but I’m not sure how to do that…

When bullet try to free itself I got this error message in console on client debug session, per bullet trying to vanish itself.

Question

How should I queue_free nodes instantiated at runtime? Should I set them authority when they are created? If yes the how? Because for a player it’s pretty straightforward because I’m just geeting peer_id of a client and setting it as an authority in player script.

they should only be freed by the authority.

if is_multiplayer_authority():
  queue_free()