Rotating a 3D bullet hole decal based on raycast collision using gdscript

Godot Version 4.2

Question

I’m very new to Godot and have a basic weapon management system set up with hit scan weapons. The hit scan weapons create a ray using code and instantiate a bullet hole decal if there’s a collision. The problem is that I need to rotate the decal depending on the surface it collides with so that it shows properly.

Most people I’ve seen use a raycast node as a child of the camera and get the collision that way, but I’m not sure that’s possible in my case. I’ve seen some suggest using look_at( ) and get_collision_normal( ) but that seems to cause an error “Invalid call. Nonexistent function ‘get_collision_normal’ in base ‘Dictionary’”.

Here’s the relevant code. The first function Get_Camera_Collision returns the collision point, the second function creates the decal.

# Get the location currently being aimed at
# Return a Vector3 value
func Get_Camera_Collision()->Vector3:
	var camera = get_viewport().get_camera_3d() # Get the camera
	var viewport = get_viewport().get_size() # Get the viewport size

# Center of screen
	var Ray_Origin = camera.project_ray_origin(viewport/2)
	# Distance of ray cast
	var Ray_End = Ray_Origin + camera.project_ray_normal(viewport/2) * Current_Weapon.Weapon_Range

# Create ray parameters
	var New_Intersection = PhysicsRayQueryParameters3D.create(Ray_Origin,Ray_End)
	# Get intersection location
	var Intersection = get_world_3d().direct_space_state.intersect_ray(New_Intersection)

# Check for a ray intersection
	if not Intersection.is_empty():
		# Get Colision Point
		var Col_Point = Intersection.position
		return Col_Point
	# Return end point even if there isn't an intersection (for projectile weapons)
	else:
		return Ray_End
var Debug_Bullet = preload("res://resources/scene resources/bullet_debug.tscn")

# Check for Hit Scan Collision
func Hit_Scan_Collision(Collision_Point):