SpaceSlog - A spaceship colony exploration sim

Welcome to SpaceSlog, a game i have been developing in Godot for around 4 years now, mostly in my spare time.

Build your ship, manage your crew and explore the cosmos whilst trying your best to keep your crew alive and your ship fully functioning. This game utilises an events driven AI and simulated ship systems to ensure gameplay is kept challenging and every game you play has a different story to tell.

I have made heavy use of the RenderingServer API and currently only use GDScript. One reason for using the RenderingServer, other than performance, is to have full mod support via JSON files.

You can find SpaceSlog on Steam and the Epic Games Store.

You are also welcome to join our Discord.

13 Likes

Wow, looks so polished. Heavily inspired by Rimworld, right?
Which is not a bad thing, I love Rimworld and would gladly play something similar in a different setting, theme, etc.
What navigation algo are You using? I heard Rimword had problems with many pawns navigation. It is still junky, even in recent versions.

1 Like

Thanks. Yeah, it’s definitely heavily inspired by Rimworld!

I use the built in Astar2D, which tbh still needs a little work as the pawns dont always take the path i would expect. But it works for the most part and is so far fairly performant.

Your project looks very promising! I think the rim world style nowadays communicates that your game is going to be feature rich instead of action-packed and beautiful. That connection also raises a high bar to reach quality wise but since you’ve already 4 years deep I can tell you’re serious about it!