Trying to call functions from a Singleton doesn't call the function

Godot Version

Question

Hi, I’m pretty new to Godot, and back whenever I originally implemented UI into the game I’ve been working on my implementation was truly awful. Now that I’m a little more competent I decided to make a system that was a little more foolproof. I have a singleton called Menu_Handler. The Menu_Handler has an Enum with states for each of the UI - states (Main menu, pause menu, settings menu, none, and inventory). I have functions for each of these states that handle what should happen if the user attempts to switch to one of these states while in their current state. from my testing it appears that calling these functions directly from the singleton works fine; however, whenever I try to call the function from one of the menus (ex. clicking the settings button in the main menu) the function is not executed. It doesn’t error or anything, it just simply does not trigger. I’ve tried adding breakpoints and the input to the button goes through completely fine, but the function is just simply not executed. I’ve autoloaded the singleton, and it autocompletes the function whenever I try to type it out so I don’t understand why the function cannot be called.

The code for the singleton is here:

extends Node
class_name Menu_Handler
enum MenuStates {MAIN, SETTINGS, PAUSE, INVENTORY, NONE}
var Menu := MenuStates.NONE
var prev_Menu := MenuStates.NONE
signal change_state(MenuState)

# Called when the node enters the scene tree for the first time.
func _ready() -> void:
	Menu = MenuStates.MAIN
	prev_Menu = MenuStates.NONE
	change_state.emit(Menu)

func _input(event: InputEvent) -> void:
	if event.is_action_pressed("ESC"):
		pause()
	if event.is_action_pressed("Inventory"):
		inventory()

func pause():
	match Menu:
		MenuStates.NONE:
			prev_Menu = Menu
			Menu = MenuStates.PAUSE
			change_state.emit(Menu)
		MenuStates.PAUSE:
			prev_Menu = Menu
			Menu = MenuStates.NONE