Working on my first game, could use advice

Godot Version

v3.5.3

Question

hey everybody, im just a complete noob to all of this and im looking for advice on how to write my code, and i hope its not uncommon to ask for this without much done yet.
I’m working on my very first ever godot project and i just got stuck, its a very simple game about an airship fighting against the wind trying to stay stable (maybe later there will be obstacles and a clear objective).
I made the airship scene, added kinematic body 2d, collision shape, sprite, and a script…
-i want the code to handle movement in six different angles: 30°, 90°, 150°, 210°, 270°, 330°.
-i want the movement to last for as long as the key is pressed.
-i don’t want the direction to vary if more than one key is pressed, meaning i want the code to take the initial input from the first key that was pressed and not allow the change of directions again until the key is released.

This is all for now, i just want to get the movement right, although i would also like implementing physics later on, basically id like it if the airship could tilt with the wind and the propellers(the “keys” i mentioned), but i don’t know if i should mention that yet…
if anyone has any ideas they are very much appreciated, thank you all :slight_smile:
–bapix

you just need some trigonometry computing.

a is the angle
x is the value of x offset
y is the value of y offset

x=cos(a)
y=sin(a)

the code you write should be almost the same using sin and cos functions in godot:

var angle := 30
var x := cos(angle)
var y := sin(angle)
var vec := Vector2(x, y)

or just

var vec := Vector2(cos(angle), sin(angle))

here you see, you actually can code a full direction moving. and for

you can put it later for you’re new.

and i would like to help you or ”teach“ you directly or something like that, because i’m a Lonely Coder on his Long Trip :neutral_face:

1 Like