Beginner Question(s) About Singals and Collision

Godot Version

Godot Engine v4.2.2.stable.official.15073afe3

Question

Hello, I am new to Godot and I am a bit confused by singals and collision. I hope I can get some help.
My Questions are:

1. How can i use Signals for Collision and make my Object “solid” so its not entering but colliding
  2. Is this a good way and if not: why and what would you do better? (currently is not colliding but entering the area, but except that)
func spawn(enemyName: String) -> void:
	var enemyScenePath = "res://models/" + enemyName + ".dae"
	ResourceLoader.load_threaded_request(enemyScenePath)

loadEnemy(enemyScenePath)
func loadEnemy(enemyScenePath: String) -> void:
	var newEnemy_scene = ResourceLoader.load_threaded_get(enemyScenePath)
	var newEnemy = newEnemy_scene.instantiate()
	var thisWorld = $"."#world
	thisWorld.add_child(newEnemy)
	#newEnemy.rotation_degrees = Vector3(0, 70, 0) 
	#newEnemy.scale = Vector3(3,3,3)
	var enemyArea3D = Area3D.new()
	var collisionShape = CollisionShape3D.new()
	var shape = BoxShape3D.new()
	shape.size = newEnemy.scale
	collisionShape.shape = shape
	enemyArea3D.add_child(collisionShape)
	newEnemy.add_child(enemyArea3D)
	enemyArea3D.body_entered.connect(enemyBodyEntered)

func enemyBodyEntered(_body: Node3D) -> void:
	print("test")

I know that those questions must seem stupid, but i rly tried to get to a solution on my own with the help of the documentation and at least the code above is working.
Have a great Day.

Use RigidBody3D or CharacterBody3D instead of an Area. Area’s don’t “collide” but they can detect physics objects collisions with its collision shape. think of Areas as a proximity sensor.

1 Like

Thanks, i did it with the Signals of the RigidBody3D but how would i do it with the CharacterBody3D, it does not have any singals in the doc. Do I rly have to use one of the gets for collision, doesnt seem efficent, or am i wrong?