Cross-language C# class typing in GDScript with Godot 4?

Godot Version

Question

Godot newbie here. I am experimenting with a project that involves godot-ink, a narrative add-on that is built on C#, but I am writing my Godot 4 project in GDScript. The add-on fortunately supports GDScript fallback methods, and I’ve been using those methods on my project quite successfully thus far.

For example I’ve been able to load an Ink story into my project, and then call its methods from within GDscript, like this:

var story: Object = load("res://MyInkStory.ink")
var latest_text: String = story.ContinueMaximally()

This works great! But I’ve had one problem-- I’m trying to use static typing as often as I can, and I keep getting the following warning when I reference the C# object like this:

The method “ContinueMaximally()” is not present on the inferred type “Object” (but may be present on a subtype).
UNSAFE_METHOD_ACCESS

I’m aware I can ignore warnings, but ideally I’d like to find a way to enable type safety when I’m calling C# methods from GDScript.

I found some historical references online for people attempting type safety within Godot 3 for C# methods… but I tried it, and although it doesn’t break anything in Godot 4, I still receive similar UNSAFE_METHOD_ACCESS warnings:

const InkStory: CSharpScript = preload("res://addons/GodotInk/Src/InkStory.cs")
var story: InkStory = load("res://MyInkStory.ink")
var latest_text: String = story.ContinueMaximally()

The method “ContinueMaximally()” is not present on the inferred type “res://addons/GodotInk/Src/InkStory.cs” (but may be present on a subtype).
UNSAFE_METHOD_ACCESS

Does anyone have suggestions for this specifically with regards to Godot 4? If not, I’ll have to ignore the errors, but as I’m still learning I’d love to adhere to best practices :smiley:

1 Like

There is a pure GDScript implementation of Ink, if you want to avoid cross-language quirks.